Edition One


Launched in March 2021, the LOEWE FOUNDATION / Studio Voltaire Award celebrates talent, creative thinking and individuality within contemporary art practice. The award works to increase and strengthen equitable representation and access and amplify artistic voices across class, race, gender, sexuality and disability.

Edition One Awardees

In 2021, seven artists were awarded two years of support through rent-free studio space, an individualised programme of mentoring and professional development opportunities, curatorial and pastoral support and a £2000 bursary.

  • Ayo Akingbade
  • Ufuoma Essi
  • Adam Farah
  • Nnena Kalu
  • Djofray Makumbu
  • Mercy Moktar
  • Solomon Garçon

The international recipient for 2022 was visual artist, cultural producer and independent publisher Beatrix Pang. This will be Pang’s first artist’s residency outside of Europe.

Via the award, Pang received:

  • A £25,000 stipend to support living costs and accommodation.
  • A rent-free studio at Studio Voltaire for the 12–month duration of the residency.
  • Budget for travel, equipment, materials and production.
  • Bespoke professional development and mentoring programme.

Studio Voltaire received over 500 applications for the award via open call and through a group of selected nominators. Awarded artists were chosen by a panel of curators and artists.

Edition One Selection Panel:

  • Sepake Angiama (Iniva)
  • Andrew Bonacina (The Hepworth Wakefield)
  • Anthea Hamilton (Artist)
  • Maggie Matić (Studio Voltaire)
  • Elizabeth Price (Artist)
  • Joe Scotland (Studio Voltaire)

Edition One Nominators:

  • Sheryll Catto (ActionSpace)
  • Teresa Cisneros (Independent curator, writer and cultural producer)
  • Alice Cretney (Turf Projects)
  • David Hevey (Shape Arts)
  • Zaiba Jabbar (Hervisions)
  • Juliet Jacques (Filmmaker, critic and writer)
  • Eliel Jones (Independent curator)
  • Rabz Lansiquot & Imani Robinson (Languid Hands)
  • Emily Pope (Artist & Montez Press)
  • Gaby Sahhar (Queer Direct)
  • Dr Mark Sealy MBE (Autograph ABP)
  • Bolanle Tajudeen (Black Blossoms)
  • Linsey Young (Tate Britain)
  • Abbas Zahedi (Artist)
  • Rehana Zaman (Artist)
  • M+, Asia Art Archive, and Para Site in Hong Kong supported nominations and selection for the international award.
  1. The LOEWE FOUNDATION was established as a private cultural foundation in 1988 by Enrique Loewe, a fourth-generation member of LOEWE’s founding family. Today, under the direction of his daughter Sheila Loewe, the Foundation continues to promote creativity, organise educational programmes and protect cultural heritage in the fields of craft, art, design, photography, poetry and dance. The Foundation was awarded the Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts by the Spanish government in 2002.

    More information:
    web | www.loewe.com
    blog | www.blogfundacionloewe.es
    Instagram | @loewefoundation

  2. All images are courtesy of Mercy Moktar

Studio Voltaire
1A Nelsons Row
London SW4 7JR

Open Wednesday–Sunday, 10 am–5 pm.

Registered Charity No: 1082221. Registered Company No: 03426509. VAT No: GB314268026